405-697-1789 [email protected]
Select Page

FEMA published a notice in the Federal Register earlier this week seeking public input on implementing the Community Disaster Resilience Zones Act of 2022. This legislation amends the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Recovery and Emergency Act to use FEMA’s National Risk Index to designate “community disaster zones” representing areas with the highest natural hazard risks and lower ability to withstand natural hazards impacts. This measure is intended to help vulnerable communities receive targeted support from FEMA and the agency’s public and private partners and to enable these communities to access federal funding that can be used to plan for climate resilience projects. FEMA will use the solicited public input to identify strategies to effectively implement the legislation, including tools to achieve equity and geographic balance in designating community disaster zones. FEMA is seeking comments on the notice through July 25.

Source: EnterpriseCommunity.org
10 G Street, NE | Washington, DC 20002

%d bloggers like this: